My 2021 in Review: The Good, The Bad & The Ugly

My 2021 in Review: The Good, The Bad & The Ugly

2021 has been one of the greatest years in my life, with new lessons, challenges, and thoughts. I am the kind of person that usually sets goals for himself, writes them down, and ticks any line item immediately after I achieve it.

I believe in writing my plans down because it helps me to easily navigate and wrap my head around them. I also engage myself in reading articles and also writing some just to keep myself motivated, and never to lose guard 😅😅.

Before I was thinking it wasn’t even necessary to write 2021 in review, but I realize writing might be a motivation for my peers to do more, work hard and be smart till they achieve what they want. I am not here to tell you about all my successes for the year rather share my journey which includes “The Good, The Bad & The Ugly” Omo I received some rejections that shock me o 🤣🤣.

Last thing before we dive into the business of the day. Always pray to your GOD, spirituality is very important, and focus on what you believe is right.

I hope I have not perspired to aspire you? Abeg o, I am not a motivational speaker 🙆🏻‍♂️🙆🏻‍♂️🙆🏻‍♂️ I’m just here to spread love and light 💜 + 💡, positive energy and catch cruise.

THE GOOD

Ghen Ghen, Everybody loves to hear about anything good, which is very normal, because nobody likes negativity or celebrates failure.

Alhamdulilah for everything that happens to me this year, to mention a few;

  • Bought a Macbook (not new sha, but Macbook na Macbook 🤣🤣).
  • Changed my phone twice (iPhone 😎).

  • Made more international friends.

  • Got certified by UNESCO-APCIEU on Media and Information Literacy.

  • Got accepted for UNESCO-APCIEU 7th workshop on GCED (after getting rejected for 3 times).

  • Interviewed by Levi’s GenZ Youth Council (One of biggest designer clothing Brands).

  • 1:1 Chit Chat with Tomiwa Lasebikan, BuyCoins Co-Founder.

  • Got a gig to set up an ICT Center for Jigawa State Polytechnic's new engineering complex.

  • Got a gig to Facilitate training for eCAPH on Data Collection Tools.

  • Got a gig to write for Tech & Civic Tech Brands.

  • Consult for Human Right Watch (HRW).

  • Got 3 Mini-grants to execute my projects.

  • YandyTech Community Members got selected for lots of life-changing opportunities (These make me happier anytime I think of it).

  • Joined Equal Access International Peace Promotion Fellowship.

  • Enter Plane for the first time ✈️

  • 10x my monthly income.

  • Travel a lot (added 3 new Nigerian states to my travel list. Plateau, Jigawa & Borno).

  • Set up my room workspace.

  • Started UI/UX Design.

  • Got to meet some friends beyond social media.

  • Joined the BeyGOOD Global Citizen Fellowship (working with Global Citizen is still overwhelming, I can’t stop imagining, me Yayandi working with Global Citizen).

  • Started learning French.

  • Started Crypto (after understanding how it works).

  • Started Savings and Investing (Call me Investor Yayandi 🤣🤣🤣).

  • Take care of myself and my family more.

These are the few I can remember to be honest 🙄🙄.

THE BAD & THE UGLY

Hmmm, Hmmm, Hmmm

This is the most interesting part; peer pressure got people depressed and mental unrest due to what they see on social media posted by their peers. Let me educate you on something, people don’t post their rejections online, only a few do that. Don’t deceive yourself on what you see online, not all you see on social media are true, focus on yourself and move on.

  • Got over 300 rejection emails in total (to mention Few).

  • Rejected for Levi’s GenZ Youth Council, after the interview and had the feeling that I have already made it.

  • Rejected for BuyCoins Customer Success Associate role after chit-chatting with the Co-Founder.

  • Didn’t find love until now 😩😩 ( anytime I try shooting a shot, I got rejected. Don't mind me, I am such a bubbly person).

  • Rejected for Charity Entrepreneurship Fellowship after being shortlisted.

  • Rejected for Peace First Fellowship.

  • Rejected for more and more.

But the ones that pain me more, are the Levi’s and BuyCoins after being comfortable getting selected. The lesson I have learnt here is;

Never feel too comfortable with uncertainties.

Alhamdulilah for what I have lost and what I have gained.

Gentle Reminder: Please remember 2022 will be the same as 2021 if you don't get your ass up and put in the work.

May Almighty Allah see us through. Ameen

I promise to write more and more articles next year by God Grace 🙏🏻🙏🏻.